About gebana Burkina Faso

The most important facts

Pakka Fairtrade partner:
Since June 2018

Number of farming families:
2500

Area:

Main products:
Cashews, dried mangoes

Certifications:
Max Havelaar, EU-Bio

EU Org

Country and regions:
Bobo Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

About gebana Burkina Faso

The company gebana Burkina Faso (formerly gebana Afrique) was founded in 2006. It started its business activity with the drying of mangos by sourcing dried fruits from groups of farmers and then testing, cutting and packaging them. However, due to repeated quality deficiencies, the company increasingly invested in its own facilities. The idea of supplementing the seasonal dry mango production with the year-round processing of cashew nuts arose early on. Because then, as now, Burkina Faso cashews are exported as raw nuts to India and processed there, which means that the country loses the added value of the end product. In order to finance Burkina Faso cashew production, dried mangoes were sold at a premium and the money collected was invested in the first cashew processing plant.

Today gebana Burkina Faso buys both mangoes and cashew nuts from local cooperatives and processes them in its own factory. The company’s own facilities guarantee a minimum quantity of high quality goods on the one hand and serve as model units and for training purposes on the other. This increases the quality of the products from the region and thus their marketability in general.

The elaborate processing of cashew nuts is done exclusively by hand. Today gebana Burkina Faso processes 1200 tons of unpeeled cashew nuts annually into 220 tons of ready-to-consume cashews. The harvest takes place from January to June, the processing all year round. If the conditions are right, raw cashew nuts can be stored without any loss of quality.

The processing process starts with steaming the raw cashew nuts to neutralize the toxin Cartol in the shell. Then the outer hard shell is cracked and the nuts are dried. After drying, the nuts are treated with thermal shock to facilitate peeling of the fine skin. Finally, the nuts are sorted and vacuum packed.

Today, 457 people work at gebana Burkina Faso and 3250 farming families benefit from long-term sales, organic and fair trade prices for their products and training in organic farming. For the producers, the premiums for organic farming, pre-financing and purchase guarantees as well as the avoidance of intermediate trade are decisive added values, as Burkina Faso is one of the poorest countries in the world.

Since 2018, Pakka has been a co-owner of gebana Burkina Faso with a 20% shareholding.

gebana Burkina Faso

Infos importantes

Partenaire Fairtrade Pakka:
Depuis Juin 2018

Nombres de familles paysannes:
2500

Productions principales:
Noix de cajou, mangues séchées

Certification:
Max Havelaar, EU-Bio

Pays et région:
Bobo Dioulasso, Burkina Faso

A propos de gebana Burkina Faso

La société gebana Burkina Faso (anciennement gebana Afrique) a été fondée en 2006. Elle a commencé son activité commerciale avec le séchage des mangues en achetant des fruits secs à des groupes d’agriculteurs, puis en les testant, les coupant et les emballant. Toutefois, en raison de défauts de qualité répétés, l’entreprise a de plus en plus investi dans ses propres installations. Très tôt, l’idée est née de compléter la production saisonnière de mangues sèches par la transformation des noix de cajou tout au long de l’année. Car à l’époque comme aujourd’hui, les noix de cajou du Burkina Faso sont exportées en Inde sous forme de noix brutes et y sont transformées, ce qui signifie que le pays perd la valeur ajoutée du produit final. Afin de financer une production burkinabé de noix de cajou, les mangues séchées ont été vendues avec une prime et l’argent récolté a été investi dans la première usine de transformation de noix de cajou.

Aujourd’hui, gebana Burkina Faso achète des mangues et des noix de cajou aux coopératives locales et les transforme dans sa propre usine. D’une part, les propres installations de l’entreprise garantissent une quantité minimale de marchandises d’excellente qualité, d’autre part, elles servent d’unités modèles et à des fins de formation. Cela permet d’améliorer la qualité des produits de la région et donc leur commercialisation en général.

Le traitement élaboré des noix de cajou se fait exclusivement à la main. Aujourd’hui, gebana Burkina Faso transforme chaque année 1200 tonnes de noix de cajou non pelées en 220 tonnes de noix de cajou prêtes à consommer. La récolte a lieu de janvier à juin et la transformation a lieu toute l’année. Si les conditions sont favorables, les noix de cajou crues peuvent être stockées sans perte de qualité.

Le processus de transformation commence par la cuisson à la vapeur des noix de cajou crues pour neutraliser la toxine Cartol dans la coque. Ensuite, la coque extérieure dure est fissurée et les noix sont séchées. Après séchage, les noix sont traitées par choc thermique pour faciliter le pelage de la peau fine. Enfin, les noix sont triées et emballées sous vide.

Aujourd’hui, 457 personnes travaillent pour gebana Burkina Faso et 3250 familles d’agriculteurs bénéficient de ventes sécurisées à long terme, de prix biologiques et équitables pour leurs produits et d’une formation en agriculture biologique. Pour les producteurs, les primes à l’agriculture biologique, le préfinancement et les garanties d’achat ainsi que l’évitement des échanges intermédiaires sont des valeurs ajoutées décisives, car le Burkina Faso est l’un des pays les plus pauvres du monde.

Depuis 2018, Pakka est copropriétaire de gebana Burkina Faso avec une participation de 20 %.