Elements & Fair Trade Alliance Kerala, South India

Quick fact-check

Pakka Fairtrade partner since:
November 2005

Number of farming families:
3,500

Surface area:
600 ha certified organic

Main products:
Cashew nuts, spices, coffee, cocoa, coconut- based products

Certificates:
Max Havelaar, Bio-Suisse, EU organic

Country and region:
India, Kerala

About Elements & Fair Trade Alliance Kerala

Pakka is part of Elements and Elements is part of Pakka – not just because the excellent cashew nuts we import into Switzerland from India still form our core business, but also because our two companies have trodden the selfsame path since the very beginning. Elements are Tomy Mathew and his wife, whose commitment has borne such splendid fruit. Elements doesn’t just trade cashews; it exports coffee, spices and coconut-based products too.

Everyone who meets Tomy Mathew is bowled over by the boundless energy of this small man who also founded Fair Trade Alliance Kerala. “Dignity instead of charity” is his leitmotiv and one he follows with all his heart. His commitment to Fair Trade Alliance Kerala (FTAK) has had a considerable impact, among many other things, on conserving the region’s rich biodiversity and in accompanying the farmers as they tend their cashew nut trees and deliver their harvest to FTAK’s warehouses. For the downward pressure on world prices has made farmers in some places turn to crops for which there is greater demand, and old varieties have started to disappear. We are delighted that our joint work helps to ensure that this happens less often. Our Malabar pepper is one such specialty variety that makes its way to Switzerland thanks to the efforts of Fair Trade Alliance Kerala.

The price premium the products obtain in the market doesn’t only go to the individual farmers; a proportion of it is always put towards community projects. It has, for example, financed the construction of a new school kitchen. School kitchens make a crucial contribution to improving the lot of the poor in India, since they ensure that children from poor families get one free hot meal per day.

The raw materials Elements trades are both Fairtrade and organic certified. That is part of our common philosophy, i.e. that our approach to business must always be seen as part of our greater economic and ecological responsibility to society, not as something separate from the community and the environment. We are proud to be able to accompany these wonderful people and to be ‘ambassadors’ for their achievements here in the North. We would also like to congratulate Tomy on his organic shop in the centre of Calicut, where visitors can linger over a cup of monsoon coffee.

Elements & Fair Trade Alliance Kerala, Inde

Infos importantes

Partenaire Fairtrade Pakka:
depuis novembre 2005

Nombres de familles paysannes:
3’500

Etendue:
600 ha de production biologique

Productions principales:
Noix de cajou, épices, café, cacao, noix de coco

Certification:
Max Havelaar, Bio-Suisse, Bio-UE

Pays et région:
Inde, Kérala

Elements & Fair Trade Alliance Kerala

Pakka fait partie d’Elements et Elements fait partie de Pakka. Non seulement parce les noix de cajou que nous importons sont au cœur de chacune de nos entreprises, mais également parce que nous avons grandi ensemble, en parallèle. Elements a été fondée par Tomy Mathew et son épouse, dont l’engagement a porté ses fruits. L’entreprise ne produit pas seulement des noix de cajou mais également du café, des épices et des produits à base de noix de coco.

Tomy Mathew est une personne énergique qui est aussi le fondateur de la Fair Trade Alliance Kerala (FTAK). „Dignity instead of charity“ est le credo qui le fait avancer. Son engagement au sein de la FTAK a permis de sauvegarder la biodiversité de la région. De plus, les petits paysans ont pu continuer à cultiver et entretenir leurs anacardiers tout en profitant des dépôts mis sur pied par l’organisme pour entreposer leurs récoltes. Ils ont ainsi pu résister à la pression du marché qui amène nombre de paysans à se tourner vers la monoculture de plantes plus demandées sur le marché et à délaisser petit à petit les cultures traditionnelles et diversifiées. Par notre partenariat avec Elements, nous soutenons cette résistance active et appuyons la sauvegarde de la biodiversité. Et si nous pouvons importer du poivre de qualité supérieure du Malabar c’est également grâce au travail fourni par la FTAK.

La plus-value obtenue grâce à la vente des produits bruts est reversée aux petits producteurs et une part de celle-ci est utilisée pour soutenir un projet important pour la communauté locale. Dernièrement, par exemple, il a été possible de construire une nouvelle cuisine scolaire. Les cuisines scolaires, en Inde, sont une contribution importante pour les plus démunis des communautés car les les enfants issus des familles pauvres y reçoivent gratuitement un repas chaud par jour.

Elements ne commercialise que les matières premières qui sont à la fois issues du commerce équitable et certifiées biologiques. C’est l’une des valeurs qui nous est commune : l’objectif de notre commerce est de prendre en compte les personnes qui travaillent avec nous et leur environnement. Nos entreprises se doivent d’être responsables tant du point de vue économiquement que du point de vue de l’écologie. Nous sommes fiers de nos relations avec nos partenaires et heureux de pouvoir contribuer à la vente de leurs produits et de les soutenir. Nous sommes en quelque sorte les ambassadeurs de leur histoire, ici, au Nord, et cela nous réjouit. Tomy a récemment ouvert son propre magasin d’aliments naturels à Calicut. Nous le félicitons chaleureusement de cette démarche.