SILK ROAD ORGANIK FOODS

Uzbekistan, Samarkand region 



Founded in 2003, Pakka partner since 2023
Cooperatives "Dustkul Bogi" and "Turkiston Gulba
Ca. 1000 affiliated farming families

Nuts, dried fruits, dried vegetables, pulses, herbs and spices

EU-Bio, NOP, Fairtrade Max Havelaar (since 2011)
Ca. 500 ha organic cultivation and 10,000 ha wild collection

A showcase operation is emerging in Central Asia
It all started in 2002 with an idea - to bring organic products from Uzbekistan to Europe. A few enthusiastic companies were quickly found and in 2003 a small business was launched in a suburb of Samarkand in southern Uzbekistan - Silk Road Organik Foods.

The first products were organic walnuts, almonds, apricots, black mulberries and sour cherries, all from wild collection. Demand quickly increased and a number of major customers were won. Over the years, a showcase business was created with modern drying, fruit and nut processing facilities, which can be operated practically self-sufficiently in terms of energy during the day thanks to 1000m2 of solar panels and photovoltaics.

The first Fairtrade products in Central Asia
From 2011, the first Fairtrade products were processed and certified in Uzbekistan and throughout Central Asia. The product portfolio expanded annually and the number of farming families increased. Initially, three Fairtrade smallholder cooperatives were established: Dustkul Bogi, Turkiston Gulba and Turob Bobo. The last two merged later. With the Fairtrade premiums, the water supply could be restored, wells drilled, heaters repaired and schools well equipped.

Wide range of high quality organic food
Today, the main products are organic walnuts, almonds, apricot kernels, peanuts and pistachios, as well as sour cherries, sweet cherries, strawberries, pomegranates, wild apricots, wild plums, black mulberries, different varieties of sultanas (Sultana, green Khorog, Manucca, Black Beauty and Black Bukhara) and many more. All products are organic, and a large part is also available in Fairtrade quality. Silk Road Organik Foods' products are used worldwide in retail and as ingredients for high-quality organic food.

A new partner for Pakka
While Silk Road Organik Foods' beginnings go back 20 years, our partnership with Pakka is still very fresh. While we have been sourcing organic fair trade chillies from Uzbekistan for our roasted cashews since 2016, it is only this year that we have had the opportunity to expand the collaboration, thanks to Pakka employee Josef and his Uzbek wife Elmira. Firstly, we are adding 19 delicious Uzbek products to the Pakka range, including different types of sultanas, dried fruits and nuts. On the other hand, we are directly supporting the Uzbek smallholder organisations by pre-financing their harvest and opening up new access to the European market for them.

Farmerstories
Our Uzbek farmers

Discover who they are, where they live, and what working with Pakka means to them. .

Learn more

PRODUCTS - coming soon



 
GALLERY 


LOCATION


Damit eine Karte eingebettet werden kann, muss eine Adresse angegeben werden

ALL OUR PARTNER

SILK ROAD ORGANIK FOODS

Ouzbékistan, région de Samarkand 



Année de création 2003, partenaire Pakka depuis 2023
Coopératives «Dustkul Bogi» et «Turkiston Gulba»
Environ 1000 familles d'agriculteurs affiliées

Noix, fruits secs, légumes secs, légumineuses, herbes et épices

EU-Bio, NOP, Fairtrade Max Havelaar (depuis 2011)
Environ 500 ha de culture bio et 10.000 ha de cueillette sauvage

Naissance d'une entreprise modèle en Asie centrale
Tout a commencé en 2002 avec une idée - celle d'apporter des produits bio d'Ouzbékistan en Europe. Quelques entreprises enthousiastes se sont rapidement manifestées et une petite entreprise a vu le jour en 2003 dans la banlieue de Samarkand, au sud de l'Ouzbékistan : Silk Road Organik Foods.

Les premiers produits étaient des noix, des amandes, des abricots, des mûres noires et des griottes biologiques, tous issus de la cueillette sauvage. La demande a rapidement augmenté et quelques gros clients ont pu être gagnés. Au fil des années, une entreprise modèle a vu le jour, avec des installations modernes de séchage, de traitement des fruits et des noix, qui peut fonctionner de manière pratiquement autonome en énergie pendant la journée grâce à 1000m2 de capteurs solaires et de photovoltaïque.​

Les premiers produits Fairtrade en Asie centrale
Dès 2011, les premiers produits Fairtrade ont été transformés et certifiés en Ouzbékistan et dans toute l'Asie centrale. Le portefeuille de produits s'est élargi chaque année et le nombre de familles d'agriculteurs a augmenté. Dans un premier temps, trois coopératives de petits producteurs Fairtrade ont été créées : Dustkul Bogi, Turkiston Gulba et Turob Bobo. Les deux dernières ont fusionné par la suite. Les primes Fairtrade ont permis de rétablir l'approvisionnement en eau, de forer des puits, de réparer des chauffages et de bien équiper les écoles.

Vaste gamme d'aliments bio de qualité
Aujourd'hui, les principaux produits bio sont les noix, les amandes, les noyaux d'abricot, les cacahuètes et les pistaches, ainsi que les cerises acides, les cerises douces, les fraises, les grenades, les abricots sauvages, les prunes sauvages, les mûres noires, différentes variétés de raisins secs (Sultana, Khorog vert, Manucca, Black Beauty et Black Bukhara) et bien d'autres encore. Tous les produits sont bio, une grande partie est également disponible en qualité Fairtrade. Les produits de Silk Road Organik Foods sont utilisés dans le monde entier dans le commerce de détail et comme ingrédients pour des aliments biologiques de qualité.

Un nouveau partenaire pour Pakka
Alors que les débuts de Silk Road Organik Foods remontent déjà à 20 ans, le partenariat avec Pakka est encore tout frais. Certes, nous nous approvisionnons déjà depuis 2016 en piments bio et équitables d'Ouzbékistan pour nos noix de cajou grillées, mais ce n'est que cette année que nous avons eu l'occasion d'élargir notre collaboration, grâce à Josef, collaborateur de Pakka, et à sa femme ouzbèke Elmira. D'une part, nous élargissons la gamme de produits Pakka avec 19 délicieux produits ouzbeks, dont différentes variétés de raisins secs, de fruits secs et de noix. D'autre part, nous soutenons directement les organisations de petits agriculteurs ouzbeks en préfinançant leurs récoltes et en leur ouvrant de nouveaux accès au marché européen.

Farmerstories
Nos paysannes et paysans ouzbeks

Découvre qui ils sont, où ils vivent et ce que la collaboration avec Pakka signifie pour eux.

En savoir plus

PRODUITS



 
GALERIE 


SITE


Damit eine Karte eingebettet werden kann, muss eine Adresse angegeben werden

TOUS NOS PARTENAIRES