The Pakka Team – the people behind the products

Tom von Euw
CEO

As a recent newcomer Tom strives to make the delicious Pakkaproducts yet known, even beyond its borders. Tom holds a degree in production and operations engineering from the Zurich ETH, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, and for many years he worked in management consulting. Even more important were the ten years he spent before coming to Pakka founding, building up, and managing his own catering business. Tom’s favorites are Pakka’s Cashews Curry Madras with a glass of bold-flavored red wine. His wife craves anything with black pepper. “Daddy, why aren’t there any cashew nuts with paprika, the way there is on potato chips?” his twin daughters recently asked him. Who knows, that might just be Pakka AG’s next product in development!

Email: voneuw@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 44 454 22 86

Daniela Widmer
Administration & Order Processing

It’s important to Daniela to understand global issues so she can continually challenge her own behaviour as a consumer in her private life. That’s why working for a Fairtrade business makes sense to her. Daniela is responsible for client relations and sales at Pakka. However, when she feels like doing something more practical, Daniela indulges in a spot of gardening and observes Mother Nature’s laws at work. She finds our Choco Cashews particularly delicious.

Email: widmer@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 44 454 22 88

Daniel Werren
Export Manager

Daniel is a certified Export Manager and has many years of professional experience in establishing and developing export markets in Europe and Asia for small and medium-sized companies

A cross-cultural life with a mix of languages is the result of having lived abroad in Paris, Cologne and Malaysia and above-all of being married to a French woman with African family roots.

But also music has always played an important role in his life.  When he was young, he used to play the guitar in a hardrock band and today he can share his passion with his 22 year-old son, regularly exchanging insider information about upcoming young bands via whatsapp.

Daniel can’t resist the Pakka chocolate nuts – they are simply too tempting!

Email: werren@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 44 454 22 87

Carmelo Martinez
Administration, logistics, purchase

Whenever Carmelo tells us of a homemade paella from his home town Valencia, it makes all our mouths water. Since 2013 he lives in Switzerland and every time the entire team is delighted when Carmelo brings a Spanish specialty into the office after a holiday at his parents place in Spain. At Pakka Carmelo is in charge of logistics and purchasing. He takes care of the entire organization and the transports of our products, both for imports as well as exports. In addition to traveling and hiking, he also likes to play football. But no matter what sports he does or which holiday trip he makes, he always takes along a bag of his favorite “Hunza-Mix”!

Email: martinez@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 44 454 22 85

Kathrin Engel
Office Manager

Kathrin joined Pakka in 2018 as an office manager. She supports the whole team in the office, getting a quick and deep insight into the Pakka World. She would love to visit the Hunza Valley in Pakistan on the spot. After her University degree in geography she worked for Schweizer Berghilfe in fundraising . Her great passion is sports: she used to be a member of the first team at Volero Zurich and  today she plays tennis regularly – always with her a pack of salted almonds from the Hunza Valley. She usually spends her summer weekends sailing with her family on Lake Greifensee and in winter she enjoys the Lower Engadine – where she can easily get by with her knowledge of the Romance language.

Email: engel@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 44 454 22 88

Christian Neeser
Head of Marketing & Communication

Christian joined Pakka in May 2018, holds a Master in Business Communications from Zurich University of Applied Sciences and has worked for various communications agencies in the past years. During this time he was involved in the most diverse disciplines in digital marketing and communications and was responsible for various customer projects.  This enabled him to gain a fund of valuable experience, which he now contributes  to  Pakka.

Besides the professional challenges, Christian loves to travel to distant countries, to get in touch with foreign cultures and people and to taste the finest exotic dishes. His favourite nuts are roasted curry cashews.

In his free time, he enjoys mountain biking through the beautiful Swiss countryside or kite-surfing – always with him the Pakka Nuts as a healthy source of energy.

Email: neeser@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 81

Simone Sidler
Finances & Wholesaler Relations

Simone is a member of the management team, supervises all of Pakka’s finances and has recently taken over contacts with our key trade accounts. Like most people at Pakka, Simone wears several hats – and that’s what she loves about her job, as well as our approach to sustainability, Fairtrade and entrepreneurship. She takes the latter very seriously with her friends too; they know they’ll get along better if they keep those Pakka orders flowing. Simone travels a lot, on horseback, on sailing boats (she has plans for a future round-the-world trip) and to wherever her friends are, for they are scattered all over the globe.

Email: sidler@diractsourcing.com
Tel: +41 44 454 22 82

Erol Bay
Wholesale

Erol has been working in the commodity trade for more than two decades and is responsible for selling the raw materials at diract sourcing. He is passionate about travelling to distant countries and particularly appreciates getting in touch with foreign cultures and tasting their exotic foods. In his spare time, he enjoys spends a lot of time with his family with outdoor activities, such as hiking through beautiful Toggenburg. Of course, on these hikes the exquisite Pakka snacks are always part of his backpack: the chocolate-covered  peanuts for his kids and the delicious cashews with Peppadew for his wife and himself. Erol simply loves them for their perfect spiciness and flavor!

Email: bay@diractsourcing.com
Tel: +41 44 454 22 80

Ueli Baruffol
Trade & Chairman of the board

Ueli is one of Pakka’s founders and a member of the management team. He looks after our brand products, which in recent times has meant in particular producing ‘white label’ products and developing new items for retailers. As a forestry graduate, tending new shoots comes naturally to him. Many seeds of product ideas have blossomed thanks to his persistence. When Ueli sets off to play his favourite sport with those yellow felt balls, he always takes a pack of Pakka cashews with him to keep his energy levels up. Our plain chocolate cashews are Ueli’s favourite product, whereas his kids go for our salted cashew nuts.

Email: baruffol@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 80

Anna Beerli
Trade & Wholesaler relations

Anna is facinated by the multitude of projects and developments which can be initiated besides the core business of trading nuts. Thus, diract is a great opportunity to gain experience in both the though trading business as well as in the involved projects with our partners. Enjoying the Pakka nuts goes well with gardening, hiking as well as biking are wonderful occasions to– especially macadamias!

Email: beerli@diractsourcing.com
Tel: +41 44 454 22 81

Ruedi Schoch
Senior Advisor

Ruedi holds a Ph.D. in Geography and a diploma in organisational and personnel development. He has a long-standing experience as management consultant in development in Africa, Asia and Eastern Europe and as a Country and Regional Director of Swiss Cooperation Offices (SDC/SECO) in various destinations. During his career, Ruedi specialised on developing sustainable value chains for agricultural production. He is fascinated by promoting ethically just development interventions. During his leisure time he travels all over the world or explores mountains by foot during winter and summer time. Pakka products are always part of his in-between snacks.

Email: schoch@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 76 441 91 82

Dorothée Perlwitz
Representative for the markets North and South America

Dorothée lives in Bogotá, Colombia and is our new Pakka representative for the markets North and South America. Her other big project has been building up a new, Colombian brand: EQUIORI. It represents the first organic, fair chocolate that is produced 100% in Colombia with exclusively Colombian ingredients. On her free-time, which she mostly spends with her family and travelling, she also likes to step back for a moment and just enjoy a sweet bite of Equiori’s chocolate or some Pakka Choco-Cashews.

Email: perlwitz@equiori.co
Tel: +57 (321) 599 8804

Das Pakka Team – die Menschen hinter den Produkten

Tom von Euw
CEO

Tom ist diplomierter Betriebs- und Produktionsingenieur der ETH Zürich und bringt in seinem Rucksack langjährige Erfahrung aus der Unternehmensberatung mit. Noch wichtiger waren aber die zehn Jahre vor Pakka, während denen Tom seine eigene Gastronomiefirma gegründet, aufgebaut und geleitet hat. Am liebsten geniesst er Pakkas Cashews Curry Madras mit einem Glas schweren Rotwein, seine Frau schwärmt für jene mit schwarzem Pfeffer. „Papi, warum gibt’s keine Nüsse mit Paprika, wie bei den Pommes Chips?“  fragte neulich eine seiner Zwillingstöchter – wer weiss, vielleicht ist dies eine der nächsten Produktentwicklung der Pakka AG.

E-Mail: voneuw@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 86

Daniela Widmer
Kundenbetreuung Schweiz

Daniela ist es persönlich wichtig, globale Zusammenhänge zu verstehen um das eigene Konsumverhalten hinterfragen zu können. Darum macht die Arbeit bei einem Fairhandels-Unternehmen für sie Sinn. Daniela ist bei Pakka für die Kundenbetreuung und den Verkauf zuständig. Wenn es ganz praktisch werden soll, dann frönt Daniela der Gartenarbeit und macht die Erfahrung, dass Mutter Natur ihre ganz eigenen Gesetze hat… Ihre ganz persönliche Gaumenfreude ist kaltgepresste Bio-Kokosnussöl.

E-Mail: widmer@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 88

Daniel Werren
Export Manager

Daniel ist diplomierter Exportleiter und hat langjährige Erfahrung beim Auf- und Ausbau von Exportmärkten in Europa und Asien für kleinere und mittlere Unternehmen. 1 Jahr in Paris gewohnt, 2 Jahre in Köln, 2 Jahre in Malaysia und eine Französin aus einer afrikanischen Familie geheiratet, das war Multikulti und Sprachenmix. Musik spielt eine wichtige Rolle in seinem Leben. Regelmässig tauscht er mit seinem 22-jährigen Sohn über WhatsApp die neusten Geheimtipps aus. Sein Einsatz als Gitarrist in einer Hardrock Band in jungen Jahren führte leider nicht zum grossen Durchbruch. Es würde ihm sicherlich guttun, wenn er die Finger von den Pakka Schokonüssen lassen könnte!

E-Mail: werren@pakka.ch
Tel: +41 44 454 22 87

Carmelo Martinez
Administration, Logistik, Einkauf

Wenn uns Carmelo von einer Paella aus seiner Heimat Valencia erzählt läuft uns glatt das Wasser im Mund zusammen. Seit 2013 lebt er in der Schweiz und wir freuen uns jedesmal, wenn er nach seinen Ferien eine spanische Spezialität mitbringt. Bei Pakka ist Carmelo für die Logistik und den Einkauf zuständig. Er kümmert sich um die gesamte Organisation und die logistische Abwicklung unserer Produkte, sowohl für die Importe wie auch Exporte. Neben dem Reisen und Wandern spielt er auch gerne Fussball. Egal welchen Sport er treibt oder welche Reise er macht, er hat immer die feinen Hunza-Mix von Pakka dabei

E-Mail: martinez@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 85

Kathrin Engel
Office Managerin

Kathrin arbeitet seit 2018 bei Pakka als Office Managerin. Sie unterstützt das ganze Team und lernt dadurch schnell die vielseitige Pakka Welt im Büro kennen . Es ist ihr Wunsch, auch mal vor Ort das Hunzatal in Pakistan kennenzulernen. Nach ihrem Geographie-Studium  an der Universität arbeitete  sie  für die Schweizer Berghilfe im Bereich Fundraising . Ihre grosse Leidenschaft ist der Sport: Früher in der 1. Mannschaft bei Volero Zürich. Heute spielt sie regelmässig Tennis – mit dabei ist immer eine Packung Pakka Salzmandeln aus dem Hunzatal. Die Sommer-Wochenenden verbringt sie mit Ihrer Familie segelnd auf dem Greifensee und im Winter im Unterengadin, wo sie sich mit ihren Rätoromanisch-Kenntnissen durchschlagen kann.

E-Mail: engel@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 88

Eliane Wanner
Marketing & Kommunikation

Genussvolle, nachhaltige Produkte zu vermarkten findet Eliane eine Aufgabe zum Reinknien. Dass Pakka-Nüsse biologisch produziert sind und fair gehandelt werden, ist für Eliane daher eine Herzensangelegenheit. Dazu gehören auch die Geschichten der Kleinbauern, die hinter den Pakka-Produkten stehen. Wer weiss schon, dass Paranüsse nur im Amazonas-Gebiet wild wachsen, dass wenn sie reif sind von bis zu 60 m hohen Bäumen fallen und von den Bauern im heissfeuchten Klima aufwändig eingesammelt werden? Geröstete Paranüsse Meersalz gehören dann auch fix zu Elianes Apéro-Repertoire. Nebst der Vorliebe für gesellige Momente, erholt sie sich zudem gerne in den Bergen, beim Bahnenziehen im Hallenbad und seit Kurzem auch auf Spielplätzen in und um die Stadt Bern.

E-Mail: wanner@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 83

Christian Neeser
Leiter Marketing & Kommunikation

Christian arbeitet seit Mai 2018 bei Pakka, hat einen Master in Business Communications der Fachhochschule Zürich und war die letzten Jahre für diverse Kommunikationsagenturen tätig. Während dieser Zeit tauchte er in die verschiedensten Disziplinen im digitalen Marketing und der Kommunikation ein und betreute Kundenprojekte. Dadurch konnte er sich einen grossen, wertvollen Erfahrungsschatz aneignen, den er nun in die Pakka miteinbringt.

Nebst den beruflichen Herausforderungen liebt Christian, ferne Länder zu bereisen, neue Kulturen und Menschen kennenzulernen und dabei feinste exotische Speisen auszuprobieren. Seine Lieblingsnüsse sind die gerösteten Curry Cashews.

In der Freizeit fährt er gerne auf seinem Mountain Bike durch die schöne Schweizer Landschaft oder surft mit dem Kite übers Wasser – die Pakka Nüsse sind hierbei ein wunderbarer Begleiter und Energiespender.

E-Mail: neeser@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 81

Simone Sidler
Finanzen & Kundenbetreuung Grosshandel

Zusammen mit Ueli gehört sie zu den „Dienstältesten“ im Team, und wie fast jeder bei Pakka hat auch Simone verschiedene Hüte auf. Sie wacht über die Finanzen, ist Ansprechpartnerin für die Kunden im Grosshandel der diract sourcing GmbH, importiert die Containerware und unterstützt wenn nötig auch unsere Partner im Süden beim Aufbau von administrativen Prozessen. Es ist gerade diese Vielfalt an Tätigkeiten und immer neuen Herausforderungen, die Simone bei Pakka und diract sourcing so liebt. In Ihrer Freizeit ist Simone gerne draussen in der Natur, zusammen mit Familie und Freunden unterwegs oder verwöhnt sich, bzw. lässt sich mit einem feinen Essen und einem guten Glas Wein verwöhnen. Keine Frage, was in der Küche immer wieder zum Einsatz kommt und unterwegs mit dabei ist, oder?

E-Mail: sidler@diractsourcing.com
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 82

Erol Bay
Kundenbetreuung Grosshandel

Erol ist seit über zwei Jahrzehnten im Rohwarenhandel tätigt und kümmert sich bei diract sourcing um den Verkauf der Rohwaren. Er reist leidenschaftlich gerne in ferne Länder und schätzt dabei den Kontakt mit den verschiedenen Kulturen und geniesst das Ausprobieren von exotischen Speisen. In der Freizeit unternimmt er viel mit der Familie, wie zum Beispiel Wandertouren durch das schöne Toggenburg. Im Gepäck dürfen dabei die Pakka-Köstlichkeiten nicht fehlen, für seine Kiddies die Schoko-Erdnüsse und für ihn und seine Frau die superfeinen Cashew mit Peppadew. Die haben gerade den richtigen Pfiff!

E-Mail: bay@diractsourcing.com
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 80

Ueli Baruffol
Handel & Verwaltungsratspräsident

Ueli ist Gründungs- und Geschäftsleitungsmitglied von Pakka und kümmert sich um unsere Markenprodukte; neuerdings insbesondere um „White Label“ Produkte und Neuentwicklungen für Grosskunden. Als diplomierter Forstingenieur liegt ihm das Hegen und Pflegen sehr am Herzen. Manch zarter Samen in der Produktentwicklung verdankt es seiner Beharrlichkeit, dass er am Ende aufgegangen ist. Pakka Cashews sind auch bei Uelis Lieblings-Sport mit den gelben Filzbällen immer als Energiespender mit dabei. Uelis Lieblingsprodukt sind unsere Choco Cashews; die seiner Kinder Cashew mit Meersalz oder Nature.

E-Mail: baruffol@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 80

Anna Beerli
Südpartner-Arbeit & Kundenbetreuung Grosshandel

Anna fasziniert die vielseitigen Entwicklungen, die neben dem Kerngeschäft mit Nüssen in den einzelnen Projekten angestossen und unterstützt werden können. Da ist diract eine glückliche Gelegenheit, die Nase einerseits in das harte Grosshandelsgeschäft zu halten und gleichzeitig die verbundene Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Partnern kennenzulernen. Die Pakka-Nüssli verzehrt Anna am liebsten bei der Gartenarbeit oder beim Wandern und Velofahren. Bisher passen ihr die Cashew mit Malabar Pfeffer dazu am besten.

E-Mail: beerli@diractsourcing.com
Telefon: +41 44 454 22 82

Ruedi Schoch
Senior Advisor

Ruedi ist promovierter Geograf und bildete sich weiter in Organisations- und Personalentwicklung. In Pakka bringt er seine Erfahrung ein als Managementberater in Entwicklungsfragen in den Süd- und Ostländern und als ehemaliger, langjähriger Koordinator in der Schweizer Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (DEZA/SECO). Er ist bestens vertraut mit dem Aufbau von nachhaltigen Wertschöpfungsketten im Landwirtschaftsbereich. Es fasziniert ihn, Entwicklung über ethisch einwandfreie Massnahmen zu fördern. In seiner Freizeit reist er viel oder ist zu Fuss unterwegs in den Bergen. Produkte von Pakka gehören dabei seit je her zu seinem Reise- und Tourenproviant.

E-Mail: schoch@pakka.ch
Telefon: +41 76 441 91 82

Dorothée Perlwitz
Repräsentantin für Nord- und Südamerika

Dorothée, die in Bogotá, Kolumbien lebt, ist unsere neue Repräsentantin für Pakka Produkte und Rohwaren für die Märkte in Nord- und Südamerika. Daneben ist sie stark engagiert mit dem Aufbau der neuen Marke Equiori. Sie repräsentiert die erste Bio und fair gehandelte, kolumbianische Schokolade, welche zu 100% aus kolumbianischen Rohstoffen und vor Ort produziert wird. Neben Familie und Reisen, hält sie immer gerne inne für einen Genuss-Moment. Ein Stück Schokolade von Equiori oder ein paar Choco-Cashewnüsse von Pakka!“

E-Mail: perlwitz@equiori.co
Telefon: +57 (321) 599 8804